NO!! You’re NOT entitled (The formerly great USA)


April 18, 2013    oldman1946@cox.net rant on disabled bullshit people…

NO!! You’re NOT entitled (The formerly great USA)

I watched two people, who once called themselves friends, brutally slug it out on FB last night. The first one (I’ll call her Sally) posted a comment about watching her neighbor (Missy) do yard work. Missy is disabled. I know this because when Missy meets people for the first time, the very next sentence after “Hi, my name is Missy” is “I’m on full disability, with a ruined back.” Let me be clear, the yard work Sally wrote about in her post, wasn’t tending a little flower bed. It was more like landscaping: pushing/pulling a mower, uphill, downhill, bending, lifting, squatting, shoveling . . . you get the picture, and it wasn’t a one-day-occurrence, this has been all day every day that weather permitted for the past 6 months. The second X-friend (Nancy) saw HERSELF in Sally’s description of Missy and got offended.

Sally told Nancy that she wasn’t writing about Nancy, and that her post had nothing to do with Nancy, but Nancy’s tirade had already begun. After spewing a list of happenstances that would have you in tears, if they all befell your favorite character on a daytime soap, Nancy announced that she was proud to receive her $1,000.00 a month (while she runs a cash-under-table small business that she pays no taxes on.)

I’m no rat, so to a certain extent, my policy on people and their little scams is: “None of my business. If you can live with yourself, I can live beside you.” However, when Nancy called Sally a spoiled, overindulged middle-class brat whose parents could easily afford college for their baby girl, I GOT OFFENDED. 

I don’t profess to know what sort of poverty-stricken background the typical mooch comes from, but I (the son of a teacher and a librarian) DO know about growing up middle class. I don’t know if the typical mooch has worked and EARNED an income long enough to be screwed by tax brackets, but that’s about what it’s like to be middle class. The assertion that middle class parents can “easily afford a college education,” is specifically what chaps my ass! My parents worked every day and provided a decent home for me and my siblings, but that took MOST of what the TWO of them could make. They certainly didn’t have thousands of dollars a year to feed any college fund, so when it came time for me to go to college I applied for financial aid. I found that my parents made JUST enough to disqualify me so I went to college on student loans, the minimal assistance my parents COULD provide and by the sweat of my brow. Actually, I think the experience made me a better, stronger more self-reliant person. Especially compared to the children of mooches who had college handed to them by the government.

I’m well aware of the fact that on any pie chart representing U.S. government spending, ALL public assistance grouped together is usually the smallest sliver of the pie. That’s not the point! It hasn’t been THAT long ago that JFK (a Democrat even) said: “Ask not what your country can do for you. Ask what you can do for your country” and the American people lived that slogan. Now that concept has all but disappeared from the American consciousness. It’s been replace by: “What can I get for free if I vote for this clueless asshole with a big mouth.”

Sincerely,
One who is so disgusted, he can barely stand to look at most of his countrymen (and women)

Leave a Reply

